Testing 123
Article Image
Courtesy: Puck Stopper Photography

Sound Tigers Face Hartford in Exhibition Opener

Courtesy: SoundTigers.com
          Release: 09/28/2017
Print RSS
Related Links

The Bridgeport Sound Tigers, proud AHL affiliate of the New York Islanders, face their first test of preseason play this afternoon with a noon contest against the Hartford Wolf Pack at the XL Center. The exhibition opener is closed to the public, but it provides an opportunity for young talent to display their skills in front of coaches and management against an in-state rival.

Follow today's game via Twitter.

“(Our preseason games) provide a chance; an opportunity for guys to show us why they belong here in Bridgeport,” head coach Brent Thompson said. “There are still jobs up for grabs and that should be the biggest motivation for some of these guys.”

“I'm looking for complete-level and who is willing to grind away and do whatever it takes to help this team,” Thompson continued. “And for other guys, I'm looking to see how they've improved over the summer. It's a great chance to evaluate our talent.”

Of the 20 players in today's game, eight have previously dressed for the Sound Tigers (411 total games), including names like Kellen Jones, Josh Holmstrom, John Stevens and Chris Langkow, the last of which played 140 games with the club between 2011-12 and 2013-15. Six players on today's roster are under contract by the Sound Tigers' ECHL affiliate, the Worcester Railers, and are attending Bridgeport's camp on a tryout. Those include Langkow, Frank DiChiara, Nick Saracino, Patrick McNally, Kyle McKenzie and Willie Raskob.

In addition, Ryan Bourque will take the ice in a Sound Tigers jersey for the first time against his former team. The 26-year-old winger spent five seasons in Hartford between the Wolf Pack and Connecticut Whale from 2011-16.

Full roster for today's preseason opener (Subject to change):

3 Patrick Cullity - D

10 Ryan Bourque - F

12 Josh Holmstrom - F

16 Kyle Schempp - F

18 John Stevens - F

27 Parker Wotherspoon - D

28 Kellen Jones - F

35 Mitch Gilliam - G

36 Frank DiChiara - F

39 Nick Saracino - F

40 Matt Gaudreau - F

41 Mike Cornell - F

43 Kyle McKenzie - D

45 Matt Lane - F

46 Patrick McNally - D

47 Chris Langkow - F

48 Jeff Kubiak - F

49 Willie Raskob - D

51 Yannick Turcotte - F

70 Kristers Gudlevskis - G

Chuck A Puck
Mobile Apps