Testing 123


Courtesy: SoundTigers.com
          Release: 02/21/2014
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: CMP Designz
The Bridgeport Sound Tigers came from behind to knock off the Hartford Wolf Pack Friday night and won by a final score of 4-3. Anders Lee scored twice in the final three minutes to help lead the Sound Tigers to their ninth win in 11 games, while Brett Gallant and Joel Broda added markers, as well. Anders Nilsson played very well in net and made 30 saves on 33 Wolf Pack shots.

The Sound Tigers opened the scoring with less than four minutes gone by on Gallant’s first of the season. The Wolf Pack had the puck in their own zone but were unable to clear it. Chris Langkow picked it up and found Gallant down low. He delayed to get Dov Grumet-Morris down, then elevated it over the Wolf Pack netminder to give the Sound Tigers a 1-0 lead.

Nilsson was stellar in the first period, but the Wolf Pack’s 16th and final shot of the first got past Nilsson to tie the score. After Nilsson made two saves, the puck came to Ryan Bourque in the slot. Bourque got it past Nilsson for his 14th goal of the season and tied the score with just 2.3 seconds left in the first.

The Sound Tigers had their chances in the second period, outshooting the Wolf Pack, 10-9. But Hartford got the lone goal of the middle frame on Justin Vaive’s first of the season. Bretton Stammler took a slapshot from the blue line that went wide, but the puck kicked off the end boards and out front to Vaive. He was in position to collect the rebound and tap the puck past Nilsson, which gave the Wolf Pack a 2-1 lead.

The Sound Tigers scored their first of two power-play goals in the third period on Broda’s first a Sound Tiger.  Ryan Strome had the puck down low before it found its way to Broda on the doorstep. He powered it pat Grumet-Morris and tied the score at two.

It remained tied for nearly 10 minutes, until Hartford answered back and regained the lead with a power-play goal of their own. Marek Hrivik had the puck in the left circle and looked to throw it in front. Mayfield got his leg in the way to knock the puck down, but it redirected over Nilsson’s shoulder and in for the goal. Hrivik’s goal came with less than five minutes to play and gave Hartford a 3-2 lead.

But then, Lee took over. First, he set up in the high slot with his team on the power play as the Sound Tigers passed the puck around their formation. Strome found Lee, who blasted a one-timer in for the game-tying goal at the 17:35 mark of the third.

The Sound Tigers top line returned to the ice with less than a minute to play in regulation, as Lee found the back of the net again. This time, he drove to the net from the right-wing corner looking for Strome in front. The pass was blocked, but the puck kicked right back to Lee, who was able to slip it in to give the Sound Tigers the lead, which they did not relinquish, with 30 seconds to play.

3rd star: Anders Nilsson (BST)
2nd star: Justin Vaive (HAR)
1st star: Anders Lee (BST)

Welcome to Bridgeport: Joel Broda scored in his first game as a member of the Sound Tigers Friday. Jake Newton did the same when he played his first game last Saturday.

Returns to the Lineup: Joe Finley (hand surgery) played in his first Sound Tigers game since Oct. 20. Andrey Pedan (upper body) was out since Nov. 11, though he recently played five games for the Stockton Thunder.

Winning Streaks: The Sound Tigers have now won four games in a row for the third time this season, tied for their longest winning streak of 2013-14.


9 Anders Lee-18 Ryan Strome-26 Mike Halmo
6 Joel Broda-28 Johan Sundstrom-36 Matthew Pistilli
11 Andrew Clark-22 Alan Quine-23 John Persson
44 Brett Gallant-54 Chris Langkow-7 Scooter Vaughan

46 Matt Donovan-52 Joe Finley
27 Aaron Ness-10 Scott Mayfield
17 Jake Newton-3 Andrey Pedan

45 Anders Nilsson
35 Kenny Reiter


9 Ryan Bourque-10 J.T. Miller-27 Jesper Fast
15 Marek Hrivik-28 T.J. Hensick-17 Darroll Powe
18 Micheal Haley-16 Oscar Lindberg-21 Shawn O’Donnell
23 Justin Vaive-6 Andrew Yogan-14 Kyle Beach

44 Aaron Johnson-5 Tommy Hughes
4 Conor Allen-45 Bretton Stamler
25 Danny Syvret-8 Dylan McIlrath

1 Dov Grumet-Morris
32 David LeNeveu

Mobile Apps