Testing 123


Courtesy: SoundTigers.com
          Release: 11/01/2013
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Bill Tenca
Related Links

The Bridgeport Sound Tigers snapped a five-game losing streak Friday night, dismantling the Worcester Sharks by a score of 7-1. Ryan Strome and Mike Halmo each had two goals, while adding three and two assists, respectively. Nick Larson, Joey Diamond and John Persson also scored for the Sound Tigers, who scored all seven of their goals before Worcester got theirs. Anders Nilsson stopped 27 of 28 shots for his second win of the season.

“It’s been a work in progress over the past few games,” Sound Tigers head coach Scott Pellerin said. “The guys have been putting the work in the last few days in practice and we were finally able to put it together and got some positive results tonight.”

Strome's five points ties him with Jeff Tambellini, Blake Comeau and Greg Mauldin for most in a single game by a Sound Tiger. Mauldin was the last to accomplish the feat, doing so during the 2009-10 season. Strome now leads the team with 13 points.

The Sound Tigers scored the only goal of the first period when Anders Lee sent a pass from the left-wing boards to Strome in the high slot. Strome gathered the peck and whistled a wrist shot over the glove hand of Harri Sateri to give the Sound Tigers a 1-0 lead.

The Sound Tigers broke the game open the second period, scoring four goals, including three on the power play. Strome got his second on the man advantage, when a Mike Keenan shot from the point got blocked. Strome was right at the doorstep, however, and put home the trickling puck to make it a 2-0 game.

Larson got on the board less than eight minutes later after Sateri stopped the initial shot from Halmo. Larson was parked right at the top of the crease as the puck slid along the goal line and knocked it in for his first professional goal.

Halmo scored the next two goals, the first of which came on a beautiful passing play from the Sound Tigers top line. Strome sent the puck cross-ice to Anders Lee as they broke into the zone, then Lee found Halmo breaking to the net. Halmo finished with a one-timer to give the Sound Tigers a 4-0 lead.

With less than two minutes to play and the Sound Tigers on the power play once again, Strome sent another cross-ice pass to Aaron Ness ,who stickhandled down low before finding Halmo in front to make it 5-0 Sound Tigers.

The Sound Tigers scored twice more in the third period, including goals from both Diamond and Persson. Diamond’s goal came after Alan Quine drove into the zone on the right wing and sent the puck out in front. Diamond was skating right up the middle and batted the pass out of mid-air for the goal. Later in the period, with the Sound Tigers up 5-on-3, Persson got the puck right off the faceoff and rifled it past Troy Grosenick, who came on to replace Sateri after Diamond’s goal.

The Sharks got their first and only goal from Freddie Hamilton, who took a cross-ice pass from Adam Comrie to beat Nilsson at 13:03 of the third.

“The biggest thing I was happy about was the way we played defensively,” Pellerin said. “We blocked shots and got in lanes. It was an all-around effort tonight.”

The Sound Tigers will be back in action Saturday night when they return home to take on the Norfolk Admirals. Fans are encouraged to bring new or gently used coats as well as canned goods for donation to benefit the Bridgeport Rescue Mission.

3rd Star: Nick Larson (BST)
2nd Star: Mike Halmo (BST)
1st Star: Ryan Strome (BST)

Strome Sensational: The five points for Ryan Strome were also tied for a season-high in all of the American Hockey League so far this season.

Lucky Number Seven: The seven goals scored by the Sound Tigers were the most since a Dec. 10, 2012 win over the Syracuse Crunch

Halmo Hot: With another four points on Friday, Mike Halmo now has all eight of his points in the last four games.

Spread It Around: Of the 18 skaters dressed for the Sound Tigers Friday night, 11 recorded a point.

Bridgeport Sound Tigers Lines

9 Anders Lee-18 Ryan Strome-26 Mike Halmo

23 John Persson-28 Johan Sundstrom-39 Joey Diamond
19 Riley Wetmore-22 Alan Quine-17 Nick Larson
44 Brett Gallant-72 Jason Clark-49 Justin Johnson

12 Calvin de Haan-15 Marc Cantin
27 Aaron Ness-10 Scott Mayfield
3 Andrey Pedan-5 Mike Keenan

45 Anders Nilsson
35 Kenny Reiter

Worcester Sharks Lines

19 Danilil Tarasov-16 Bracken Kearns-15 Brodie Reid
27 Rylan Schwartz-12 Freddie Hamilton-18 Eriah Hayes
13 Curt Gogol-28 Riley Brace-8 Sebastian Stalberg
23 Matt Pelech-21 Travis Oleksuk-26 James Livingston

29 Nick Petrecki-5 Matt Tennyson
3 Rob Davison-14 Sena Acolatse
4 Taylor Doherty-44 Adam Comrie

35 Harri Sarteri
1 Troy Grosenick

Mobile Apps