BRIDGEPORT, Conn. (April 7, 2012) – Michael Hutchinson made 39 saves and Trent Whitfield scored twice as the Providence Bruins defeated the Bridgeport Sound Tigers 4-2 at Webster Bank Arena on Saturday night. With the win, Providence improves to 34-32-3-4. The Sound Tigers see their seven-game winning streak snapped and fall to 39-25-3-6.

Providence spent much of the first period in the Sound Tigers zone and netted the first two goals of the game. Josh Hennessy collected the puck by the Sound Tigers blue line, raced around a defenseman and beat goaltender Kevin Poulin below his blocker to put the Bruins up 1-0 12:03 into the game. Providence increased its lead to two just 30 seconds later. Trent Whitfield crashed the net following a shot on Poulin and was able to muscle the puck in for his eighth goal of the season to give the Bruins a 2-0 lead.

The Sound Tigers cut the deficit to one at the 7:51 mark of the second period. Calvin de Haan skated the puck into the zone and found Tomas Marcinko at the top of the slot. Marcinko sent a wrist shot on net that Sean Backman deflected down past Bruins net-minder Michael Hutchinson. It was Backman’s seventh goal of the season and it cut the Bruins lead to 2-1. Rhett Rakhshani misfired just after Backman’s goal, and the Bruins found themselves on an odd-man rush. Carter Camper skated the puck into the slot and fired off the left post and in for his 18th goal of the season to put the Bruins up 3-1 at 8:36 of the middle frame.

The Sound Tigers recorded the first seven shots of the third period, but the Bruins would beat Poulin on their first shot of the final frame to take a three-goal lead.
Whitfield fired a slap shot from the left circle that snuck over Poulin’s right shoulder for his second goal of the night to make the score 4-1. John Persson brought the Sound Tigers within two when he sent a bouncing puck from the top of the zone that hopped past Hutchinson at 15:57.

The Sound Tigers return to action against the same Providence Bruins next Friday night at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center at 7:00 p.m.

Persson – Romano – Rakhshani
DiBenedetto – Mouillierat – Ullstrom
Halmo – Marcinko – Backman
Howes – Nelson – Riley

Katic – Oleksy
Landry – Ness
de Haan – Wishart