Testing 123


Courtesy: SoundTigers.com
          Release: 11/30/2013
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: SoundTigers.com
Related Links


The Bridgeport Sound Tigers lost a wild one Saturday night, as the Albany Devils outlasted them in an 8-6 game at Times Union Center. Nick Larson had a pair of goals for the Sound Tigers, who also got markers from Mike Keenan, Alan Quine, Chris Bruton and Matt Donovan. Kenny Reiter allowed all eight goals and was pulled in the third period for Parker Milner.

There were a total of six goals scored in the first period, four of which were scored by Albany. The Sound Tigers got on the board first, however, on a goal from Larson’s second goal of the season. Larson was trailing the play as Justin Johnson and Riley Wetmore entered the Albany zone 2-on-1. Johnson’s initial shot was stopped, but Larson was there for the rebound to give the Sound Tigers a 1-0 lead.

Three minutes later, Albany picked up a power-play goal as Mike Sislo took a feed from Reid Scarlett and sent a slap shot past Reiter. The Sound Tigers scored again at the 11:50 mark, with a power-play goal of their own. Mike Halmo sent a pass to the slot that went past Anders Lee in front. Keenan jumped on the loose puck and sent it past Scott Wedgewood to make it 2-1 Sound Tigers.

Albany, though, scored three unanswered goals in the final 4:40 of the first to take a 4-2 lead into intermission. First, Reid Boucher won a race to puck dumped in to the left-wing corner of the Sound Tigers zone. He sent a shot off the post but over the goal line to make it a tie game. 46 seconds later, Reiter was unable to make a stop on Tom Sestito, who was parked right in front to collect a rebound from Dan Kelly’s blast from the point.

With 22 seconds left, a post-whistle scrum led to a roughing minor on Scott Mayfield and another Devils power play. Scarlett had the puck at center point before winding up and firing a shot past Reiter for a goal with 2.9 seconds remaining in the opening period.  

The Sound Tigers pulled to within one twice in the second period, the first time coming on a goal from Quine. With the puck along the right-wing boards, Quine exchanged places with Matt Donovan at the point and went up high before he fired a wrist shot past Wedgewood for the goal.

Sislo answered with his second of the game five minutes later, but the Sound Tigers made it a one-goal game again at 15:55 of the second. Donovan skated around the entire perimeter of the the Devils zone before winding up at the left-wing halfboards. Bruton was in front for the deflection and got it past Wedgewood to make it 5-4.

The second intermission came early as, with 3:49 left in the second, Raman Hrabarenka threw a hit on Mike Cornell that shattered the glass on the left wing just inside the Albany zone. Both teams went to the dressing room, and following the end of the second, the teams simply switched sides.

Before the second ended, however, the Devils came away with another power-play goal. Harri Pesonen took a shot that came back off the end boards right out front for Stefan Matteau, who made it a 6-5 game. Matteau added another at 5:40 of the third to make it 7-5.

Chris McKelvie was called for a minor penalty midway through the third, but when he came out of the box he took a pass from Sestito and redirected it home for the goal. Six seconds later, Larson got the Sound Tigers to within two, but it was as close as the Sound Tigers got the rest of the way.

The Sound Tigers return to action Sunday for a 3 p.m. contest against the Manchester Monarchs at Webster Bank Arena.


3rd star: Matt Donovan (BST)
2nd star: Matt Sislo (ALB)
1st star: Stefan Matteau (ALB)


Keep That Puck: Alan Quine’s goal was his first as a professional.

More Firsts: Chris Bruton’s goal was his first as a member of the Sound Tigers.

Record Night: The combined 14 goals scored in Saturday’s game is an all-time franchise record.


9 Anders Lee-18 Ryan Strome-26 Mike Halmo

23 John Persson-28 Johan Sundstrom-16 Chris Bruton
22 Alan Quine-54 Chris Langkow-11 Jon Sim
17 Nick Larson-19 Riley Wetmore-49 Justin Johnson

46 Matt Donovan-15 Marc Cantin

5 Mike Keenan-10 Scott Mayfield
21 Dallas Jackson-4 Mike Cornell

35 Kenny Reiter

30 Parker Milner



18 Stefan Matteau-12 Tim Sestito-9 Joe Whitney
14 Reid Boucher-11 Kelly Zajac-19 Mike Sislo
16 Chris McKelvie-10 Rod Pelley-15 Harri Pesonen
20 Riley Boychuck-25 David Wohlberg-26 Mike Hoeffel

28 Dan Kelly-34 Reece Scarlett

7 Brandon Burlon-29 Raman Hrabarenka
2 Seth Helgeson-33 Corbin McPherson

31 Scott Wedgewood

1 Keith Kincaid

Mobile Apps