Article Image
Courtesy: Albany Devils


          Release: 11/25/2015
Print RSS
Related Links

The Bridgeport Sound Tigers dropped their second straight game, falling to the Albany Devils 3-1 on Wednesday night at Times Union Center.

A fast-paced first period saw a two-goal lead for the Devils. Rod Pelley got the scoring started midway through the opening period, beating Sound Tigers netminder J.F. Berube five-hole on a 2-on-1 to give the Devils a 1-0 lead. Pelley’s first of the season was just the start for the Devils in the first.

1:28 later, Blake Coleman increased Albany’s lead to two. Paul Thompson held the puck looking for an option in front of the net before finding Coleman, who also went five-hole to give Albany a 2-0 lead. The Devils outshot the Sound Tigers 16-6 in the first, throwing everything they could at Bridgeport’s new netminder.

The Sound Tigers got one back in the second period, as Ryan Strome was finally rewarded for his hard work. Bracken Kearns battled in the Devils zone, giving the puck off to Strome. The right-winger fired a bad angle shot over the shoulder of Danis to give the Sound Tigers their first goal of the game, making it 2-1.

Albany got both power plays in the second period as their second-ranked power play went to work. However, the Sound Tigers remained stellar on the penalty kill, not allowing many good chances and killing both penalties. The kill ended up 3-for-3 on the night, but the team couldn’t solve Danis.

Coleman added his second of the game in the third period, wiring a pass from Thompson past Christopher Gibson, who took over for an injured Berube at the start of the third period. Bridgeport outshot the Devils 8-2 in the closing frame but could not get another goal.

Bridgeport finished the game 0-for-2, marking the fifth straight contest the team failed to score on the man advantage. Berube made 26 saves in his Sound Tigers debut.

The Sound Tigers return to action for Throwback Weekend, starting on Saturday, November 28 against the Hartford Wolf Pack at Webster Bank Arena. Puck drop is scheduled for 7:00 p.m.

Forward Lines:

Whitney – Kearns – Strome

Wright – Quine – Halmo

Vaive – Holmstrom – Collberg

Johnston – Jones – Florek

Defensive Pairings:

Graham – Mayfield

Czuczman – Pulock

Finn – Leduc


J.F. Berube

Christopher Gibson

Chuck A Puck
Mobile Apps